Placebic Phrases

to soothe the mind of;

Dally Cafe Hunt #1

4 Comments

23rd March, 2014

Last Sunday, my Dally chicks, Aishah, Lina and I decided to head out together to try a new cafe, Sedap Giler, after I came across a tweet by the owner’s son promoting it. Sure, it was all the way at Grandlink Square, with the nearest MRT station being Paya Lebar but hey, it’s not like we meet each other everyday – what’s wrong with venturing out of our Boon Lay box, right?

Met up pretty late in the afternoon, and got lost a couple of times getting there but once we did, oh, sweet!

We were the only people around when we came, but considering the timing (around 5-6?), it was neither lunch nor dinner and perfectly understandable. Took a seat, and was given one handwritten menu for us to share. It was pretty easy to pick what to eat, and considering their speciality was the ‘Hansem Burger’, we each decided to try different versions of it.

So with our minds made up, and the fact that we weren’t really in a hurry, we do what girls do best which is (you guessed it!) camwhore!

 So this is what normally happens when Lina takes pictures.
(never noticed till now but her lenses are gorg!)

Proper shot –

Beauty personified!

Aishah my Pe’Ah


and Lina my Jubby!

20140323_174459 20140323_174502 20140323_174504

Yes that’s how ordering food normally goes for us. Meh.
I think my ‘caught out’ face is damn cute leh? HAHA shameless!

Proper group photo, finally!

So after much photos and fussing, we finally got around to ordering, which was no hassle at all. The staff were all very friendly, and the owner was no exception. She was a very lovely lady, with a tendency to call people ‘dear’ which gives the whole experience a very ‘homely’ feel – you know, when you go visiting during either Hari Raya, CNY or Deepavali and you meet extended family members, and you have no idea who they are but they just make you feel so welcome with their little endearments here and there?

So we decided to order the Hansem Burger and Hansem Burger Spesial (I think?), an egg burger,and the satay in a cup to try.

The food came in decent time, and we were pleasantly surprised at both the portion and the presentation. I mean, considering it was a really new cafe, I was just expecting basic plates but what a lovely start!

Burgers as big as my face, with nacho sides (if you get a set, you get to choose between nachos or cookies), cheese to dip your nachos into, thin but satisfying handmade chicken patties (you can opt for beef if you’d like but none of us like red meat all that much), vegetables that didn’t fall out of the burger while you’re eating them making a huge, unglam mess (I’m looking at you, Ramly Burgers!) and two separate sauces that when eaten together, make for a spicy yet sweet kick – it was a pretty satisfying meal!

I was kind of wishing I didn’t order the satay in a cup but even when full, it was still pretty good to nom on! Legit roasted marinated chicken pieces in peanut satay gravy, with a mix of onions and cucumbers – I actually think this is a good idea for street food vendors to look into – ain’t nobody got time to eat off a stick anymore, food in cups is where it’s at now!

It was really affordable, $22 for the three of us, including food and drinks and after our lunch + dinner (linner? Dinch?), we went to sing karaoke at the spot located in the same mall! The last time I’ve stepped into a karaoke spot was back when I was either 16 and 17, and I didn’t sing because it was with a different crowd, and I was embarrassed so… they broke my karaoke virginity. I just realized! Wow!

This is how you sing 90s boy band songs if you need the ‘sengau’ness. Haha!

It was a truly enjoyable day, and I only wish we could have more time to spend with each other. I’ve known these girls for only 5-7 years, and loved them for less (this sounds mean, but I’m being honest, we didn’t exactly like each other when we first met, did we now?) but I’m grateful to have met them, and thank God for letting us be in each other’s lives. We may not always agree, nor do we see life the same way, but it is our disharmony that creates, well, harmony.

I feel a bit sick writing such nice stuff about these two annoying girls though. Best to end this post with a super unflattering shot of them, then. Enjoy!

HAHAHA I’M SORRY, YOU STILL LOVE ME THOUGH RIGHT?

Author: Diana N. Din

22, female, Singaporean. There's so much more to know than just my ASL. Like how I find informercials interesting, animated children's films more heart wrenching than the saddest adult film you can think of, how the mind of an extroverted introvert works and well, my life in general is pretty interesting if written about in the right way. Unless you're not into getting to know someone on a deeper level, and an ASL is all you need, then - kthxbai.

4 thoughts on “Dally Cafe Hunt #1

  1. nice pictures 🙂

    • Thank you! Only have my phone for now, but I hope working part-time while schooling will help me get either a phone with a better camera, or a proper camera. 😀

      • Does not matter the camera out matters how perfectly you use it. So I believe still you can make nice photos with same phone 😀

      • No no.. I mean the pose not the quality of the photo. Photos are good I mean the pose 😀

Leave a Reply

