Placebic Phrases

to soothe the mind of;

Introducing; Rhea Delilah!

Leave a comment

Welcome to the world, little princess!

Everyone’s been waiting so long for you, and you finally arrived three days ago!

After hearing all these scary stories about how long childbirth can take, I’m glad to hear that Lina had a smooth and uncomplicated birth, alhamdulillah!

CYMERA_20140407_012009

It’s kind of a shock, to be honest, I mean sure, I knew she was carrying a child all these months, and that there was a living (soon to be) person inside of her belly, but to see a tiny little human is pretty awe-inspiring and, at the same time, freaky.

Really wanted to hold her, and cuddle her, but with her being so… young I really felt scared. What if I did something wrong, what if I hurt her? No way, I’d rather not take the risk, as saddening as it was.

CYMERA_20140407_011636

It’s only when she’s sleeping that Rhea doesn’t wave her arms about!

Was not able to visit Lina and Wan at the hospital due to work commitments, but I’m glad I finally got to see the happy family today, hope I’ll be as lucky as them in future, insyaallah.

CYMERA_20140407_011744

 

It’s only now that I’m home and have had time to process everything that I kind of realize… I probably shouldn’t have had visited them in their bedroom – privacy of a newly wed and newborn and what not. I suppose I am pretty daft when it comes to social norms. Meh.

It was pretty interesting asking Wan’s parents how they felt about Rhea’s coming into this world. “So… what does it feel like being grandparents now?”

Feels the same, just that there’s one more person in the house”

I can only hope my parents/ in-laws will be this nonchalant when the time comes for me to grow up, get married and start a family. We all know how insane Asians (especially Malays!) when it comes to babies, right? You start on your journey on becoming a mother, and suddenly everyone’s an expert.

No, no, my post is supposed to be filled with positivity! Oh, I’m so excited to see Rhea grow up! I really wonder how she’s going to be like around her uncle Aniq! Now there’s two little kids to join in the big brothers’ and big sisters’ outings, swell!

I have no idea how to end this post, so I shall end it abruptly.

Like this.

Author: Diana N. Din

22, female, Singaporean. There's so much more to know than just my ASL. Like how I find informercials interesting, animated children's films more heart wrenching than the saddest adult film you can think of, how the mind of an extroverted introvert works and well, my life in general is pretty interesting if written about in the right way. Unless you're not into getting to know someone on a deeper level, and an ASL is all you need, then - kthxbai.

Leave a Reply

