Placebic Phrases

to soothe the mind of;

Orientation Thus Far

Leave a comment

Sorry for the lack of posts for the past few days, my body clock’s still messed up and I’m adjusting to waking up early and actually doing things in the morning and having to repeat the cycle the next day. Used to go to bed at 6am and wake up at 2 in the afternoon but obviously that’s not going to be an option any longer.

Talking about the past days would take up a lot of time, so I think I’ll just blog about today – and a lot of things happened today, and I had so much fun!

Early in the morning we had a mascot challenge, where we had to dress up a member of our class to fit the theme of ‘fairytale’. We chose ‘unimaid’ – a unicorn + mermaid bastard child because apparently our class has an obsession with both, and poor Ruzaini was thrusted into the role. He was a really good sport about it though – what with having to wear a bra, a wig, makeup and whatnot…


2014-04-10 09.25.15

First we stuffed his bra – check out the amount of chicks around him doing so!
I want to say this must be a guy’s dream but I highly doubt so… 

IMG-20140410-WA0017
Then we put on his pretty girl camouflage…

2014-04-10 09.32.28
Help him out with his wig, which was actually an otaku classmate’s Hatsune Miku cosplay wig –

2014-04-10 09.59.46
And lastly, what would a unicorn-mermaid be without his tusk?

IMG-20140410-WA0000 IMG-20140410-WA00042014-04-10 10.31.46

Took photos with him for posterity’s sake and damn he rocked that runway!

2014-04-10 10.29.03

Special mention: twerking fairy!
This guy’s super happening, had the whole hall cracking up! His confidence was super delightful, I swear.

IMG-20140410-WA0006

Still think Ruzaini’s prettiest though.

Had a couple of talks after the mascot competition. The first one was about smoking if I’m not wrong. I completely understand why schools are for deterring students from taking up smoking, because let’s face it, it is a bad habit, both for your health, your pockets and what not, but come on, do you really think that all smokers are comically bad?

*walks with a swagger* “Hey, you, do you want to hang out with us cool kids? Look at us, we’re so exclusive, don’t you want to join? Just take a stick, that’s all it takes, come on, what do your ‘friends’ know, they’re not really your friends, take a stick and really live life!”

When in the world has that ever happened? 

Excuse me I don’t know about other countries, perhaps it might happen in Russia because they sound like baddies but it will never happen in Singapore, mark my words. for the reasons that

1. tobacco tax back in 2011 was at 67%, and recently there’s been a 10% tax hike – you think we so generous ah want give you a free stick?

2. WHO DOES THAT? 

Deterrent skits like that might work for primary school kids, but considering the current generation’s exposure to the media, even then, only the lower primary kids. And you’re showing this to us, young adults?

Why not make the storyline different, it doesn’t always have to be some smoker trying to induct a non-smoker in the most random encounters ever, and the smoker doesn’t always have to be preposterously bad. Why not instead of constantly preaching not to start smoking, why not skits about how to quit smoking instead, sure, prevention is better than cure, but oh Lord I’m so tired of these nonsensical attempts at trying to get youths to not smoke and I know I’m not the only one, ugh.

Moving on to better talks, we had an interactive skit where the cast would come into the audience to get our thoughts and opinions on how the next scene could be carried out, and it was pretty interesting, we discussed why our college gets so much flak, why the stereotypes exist and how we can beat the mentality.

2014-04-10 14.42.15
Rini got called up and I’m so glad that now everyone gets to see how insanely funny she is!
Can’t believe how coolly she did everything, mad props.

IMG-20140410-WA0024IMG-20140410-WA0021
Truth be told the rest of them were not to our liking so we decided to camwhore instead.
I suppose karma’s a fast hitter though, cause majority of our photos turned out blurry.

IMG-20140410-WA0025

Shout out to Maria, the one flipping the bird though – she was super shy and quiet when I met her but insanely sassy and loud now, constantly screaming and making jokes about anything and everything.
Not used to it yet but hey, every sandwich needs it’s chilli sauce right?

IMG-20140410-WA0022

4/5 of the girls I’ve been glued to these past few days. 

Had a digital talk afterwards which again, was interactive. Talked about how what we do online affects real people, and that they have repercussions but I think everyone already knows that. Really interesting thing was how one of the actors was actually from Suria (Singaporean local channel for Malays):-

2014-04-10 15.58.26
Lady in the middle – I don’t recognize her but a couple others did, apparently!

Hung out with Rini after school, something which is occurring constantly since we first met. It’s pretty nice to have someone whom is new to you but you can just click very well with them, thanks to them being similar in mentalities and habits, but bounces off your dynamics – you know, introverts and extroverts, shy and outgoing, bitchy and sweet, so on and so forth?

Went to AMK Hub (which sucks, I’m sorry) to look for accessories for school but couldn’t find any so we just enjoyed each other’s company before heading home, where I am now, writing this post.

As much as I like writing and expressing myself, I’m finding it increasingly difficult to do so, what with how tired I am after school, and how little time I’m going to have to do so considering I have to wake up latest by 5am.

Let’s just hope things will get better, and/ or I get used to them soon.

Until my next post, enjoy my classmate, Maira’s pedoface!

IMG-20140410-WA0001
I hope she never sees this –
HAHAHA 

Author: Diana N. Din

22, female, Singaporean. There's so much more to know than just my ASL. Like how I find informercials interesting, animated children's films more heart wrenching than the saddest adult film you can think of, how the mind of an extroverted introvert works and well, my life in general is pretty interesting if written about in the right way. Unless you're not into getting to know someone on a deeper level, and an ASL is all you need, then - kthxbai.

Leave a Reply

