Placebic Phrases

to soothe the mind of;

In Relationships, I’m Done

1 Comment

And I’m not referring to BGRs, although, to be fair, I’m pretty much done with those as well.

I’m actually supposed to be revising, and the only reason why I came online on my mother’s laptop is actually to check out the proper term for something I’m learning, but I got distracted by Twitter, and here I am – oh, technology. How backwards you’ve made us!

I’ve gotten to the age where I’m totally done with drama, although looking back, I was just about done with it a long time ago – but it’s pretty difficult to escape, especially now that I’m in a class where I’m the oldest, and the youngest is either 3-4 years younger than I am.

It’s only been three weeks since school started, and two since lessons (yay!) started, and already there’s been class scandals and disputes, but seriously?

I don’t understand the need for some individuals to lie about their past experiences and background, just to fit in. If you’re a nice enough person, you’ll be accepted regardless – why set yourself up for the liability of being ostracized when your lies get discovered (and trust me, they will get discovered, sooner or later)?

Or the need for other individuals to constantly put others down just to feel better about themselves. If the only way you feel good about yourself is by making others feel or look bad, don’t you think that pretty much shows how superficial you are as a person? When you bitch about others, it reflects badly on you, please remember that. And while we’re on the topic of remembering, do note that if someone talks about others to you, they’re probably talking about you to others as well.

And now that I’m talking about staying sharp, stay sharp on the lookout for passive-aggressive folk cause gosh darn, if they aren’t the most emotionally draining and negative influence you will ever have in your life, since ever.

We all know the typical bullies, the ones who’d gang up on you, make jokes at your expense, throw things at you, so on and so forth – but passive-aggressive people? Oh Lord, please have mercy and save our souls. They can cut you down, make you feel like you’re a horrible excuse for a human being, just make you feel like a plastic bag (thank you Katy Perry, for that wise simile, where would I be without you?) – but when someone asks you why you dislike being around them, you can’t explain it to them without sounding feeble – they have to have been in your shoes to understand!

And it doesn’t just apply to bullies, it can apply to ‘basic’ (gurl, you ratchet, those shoes with that purse? Oh Lordy!) passive-aggressive people as well – and it’s just as tiring, trust me.

As much as I try to avoid conflict and drama, with a class full of girls it’s pretty difficult to avoid. I suppose I’ve just got to surround myself with positive vibes, and keep my eyes on the prize – a progression to either Singapore or Ngee Ann Polytechnic.

I know I can do it, the issue is – will my fire burn bright or will it fizzle out?

Only God knows.

Author: Diana N. Din

22, female, Singaporean. There's so much more to know than just my ASL. Like how I find informercials interesting, animated children's films more heart wrenching than the saddest adult film you can think of, how the mind of an extroverted introvert works and well, my life in general is pretty interesting if written about in the right way. Unless you're not into getting to know someone on a deeper level, and an ASL is all you need, then - kthxbai.

One thought on “In Relationships, I’m Done

  1. Don’t let it fizzle out! Always be hungry, always reach for your goals.

Leave a Reply

